Complete Guide To Registering For Federal Disaster Assistance

Following the destruction of Hurricane Irma, there are 37 Florida counties that can now apply for federal disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses from the storm.

Brevard, Citrus, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Indian River, Lake, Marion, Martin, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Polk, St. Lucie, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia counties were added to FEMA  after Broward, Charlotte, Collier, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Putnam Sarasota, and St. Johns were already designated for Individual Assistance.

To be eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program, damage and losses from Hurricane Irma and flooding had to have occurred beginning Sept. 4.

Registering with FEMA immediately is very important. If you already preregistered with FEMA, then you don’t have to apply again. Follow these steps to register:

  • Online at, or
  • On the FEMA mobile app, or by
  • Calling 800-621-3362. Those using 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use TTY should call 800-462-7585.
  • The too-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET, seven days a week.
  • Multilingual operators are available by pressing 2 for Spanish and pressing 3 for other languages.

For residents who don’t have access to telephone or internet services, disaster survivor assistance specialists will be in local communities soon to help people register.

Assistance for residents who are eligible includes grants for temp housing, and other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral or burial costs.