Early Voting Begins for Five Florida Counties

MIAMI (AP) _ Early voting begins for five counties in Florida.

Hillsborough, Collier, Hardee, Hendry and Monroe County allow voters to cast their ballot starting Monday.

For the rest of Florida, early voting starts Aug. 4.

Florida’s primary election is on Aug. 14.

The Florida Division of Elections web site states that voters must be registered in the party for which the primary is being held.

Still, all voters can vote in nonpartisan races and contests where all candidates have the same political affiliation and the winner of the primary election won’t have any opposition in the general.

Florida’s new election law reduces early voting days from 15 to 10, which has drawn several legal challenges.