Rick Scott Presents Shine Awards To 3 District Teachers

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Today, during a meeting of the Florida Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized three outstanding North Florida educators for their contributions to learning with the Governor’s Shine Awards. The teachers were recently named District Teachers of the Year for their respective counties. The Shine Award is presented to Floridians who have positively helped children through education.

Governor Scott said, “I am honored to present these educators from North Florida with the Shine Award for their commitment to education in Florida. Teachers provide our students with the foundation for success and a quality education. With this training ground, Florida’s students are among the best and the brightest in the nation.”

Shine Award Recipients:

Ashley Everett, Calhoun County, Blountstown Elementary School – Ashley Everett has been teaching at Blountstown Elementary School for nine years. She has served in her current position as a 5th grade teacher for the past two years. Everett not only motivates her students academically, she also helps them to develop socially. She works hard to build their confidence by displaying their progress via a “Brag Board,” where she highlights students who made the “Top 5” largest growths on tests or activities. Everett believes it is important to base successes on “how far we have come not how high we are.”

Jennifer Amman, Taylor County, Perry Primary School – Jennifer Amman works hard to enable every child to begin their educational journey in a positive and caring classroom. She has been teaching in kindergarten at Perry Primary School since 2008. She has been described by her colleagues as a “problem solver, an innovator and a dynamic member of the Perry Primary School team.” Amman’s enthusiasm, love and passion for teaching are evident not only in her classroom, but also in the many roles she fills.

John Kane, Wakulla County, Riversprings Middle School – John Kane is an 8th grade teacher at Riversprings Middle School. He has been teaching for eight years. He is a hardworking, dedicated teacher with a relentless determination to prepare students for success in the classroom, in the workplace and in life. To provide assistance for students who may be struggling in math, Kane hosts a daily after-school mathematics tutoring program that is open to all middle school and high school students in Wakulla County School District.

Each of Florida’s 67 school districts selects a Teacher of the Year who is then considered for statewide recognition. The Florida Teacher of the Year is chosen from 192,000 public school teachers throughout the state by a selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community. Florida’s top educator is selected on the basis of the superior ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching and outstanding school and community service. The most important qualification is the teacher’s ability to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.

Source: Rick Scott Press Release