Could John Lynch Make It Into The Hall Of Fame?

John Lynch Is Every Bit As Worthy To Get In Hall Of Fame

Former Tampa Bay Buccaneer safety John Lynch is eligible to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. Ira Kaufman, who has been a voting member of the Hall of Fame induction committee for 32 years. Saturday morning, he will make the case that Lynch is worthy to join his fellow Bucs teammates Warren Sapp and Derrick Brooks in the Hall.

The trio worked together to make the “Tampa two,” defense of Tony Dungy the most innovative defense of its time.
On this edition of the Sunshine Boys podcast Kaufman previews his case why Lynch should be inducted into Canton. He also shares the behind the scenes battles that goes on each year when the voters get together.

The process starts bright and early, tomorrow morning in a conference room at the Houston Convention Center. That is when the 48 members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame voting committee will meet. The day long process begins at 7 a.m. and first each prospective nominee will be presented by their local representative, with a speech that last for about 7 to 10 minutes, that makes the case why they should be inducted into the Hall, then comes the debate followed by the vote. It should be noted that only a maximum of five people be inducted into Canton per year.

Hear Ira Kaufman Give Inside Details On Hall of Fame Voting

Here is the list of candidates –

1. Brian Dawkins, safety (Philadelphia Eagles, 1996-2008; Denver Broncos, 2009-2011)
2. Jason Taylor, defensive end (Miami Dolphins, 1997-2007, ’09, 2011; Washington Redskins, 2008; New York Jets, 2010)
3. LaDainian Tomlinson, running back (San Diego Chargers, 2001-09; New York Jets, 2010-11)
4. Morten Andersen, kicker (New Orleans Saints, 1982-1994; Atlanta Falcons, 1995-2000; 2006-07; New York Giants, 2001; Kansas City Chiefs, 2002-03; Minnesota Vikings, 2004)
5. Don Coryell, coach (St. Louis Cardinals, 1973-77; San Diego Chargers, 1978-1986)
6. Kurt Warner, quarterback (St. Louis Rams, 1998-2003; New York Giants, 2004; Arizona Cardinals, 2005-09)
7. Terrell Davis, running back (Denver Broncos, 1995-2001)
8. Isaac Bruce, wide receiver (Los Angeles Rams, 1994; St. Louis Rams, 1995-2007; San Francisco 49ers, 2008-09)
9. Terrell Owens, wide receiver (San Francisco 49ers, 1996-2003; Philadelphia Eagles, 2004-05; Dallas Cowboys, 2006-08; Buffalo Bills, 2009; Cincinnati Bengals, 2010)
10. Tony Boselli, offensive tackle (Jacksonville Jaguars, 1995-2001; Houston Texans, 2002)
11. Alan Faneca, guard (Pittsburgh Steelers, 1998-2007; New York Jets, 2008-09; Arizona Cardinals, 2010)
12. Joe Jacoby, offensive tackle (Washington Redskins, 1981-1993)
13. Ty Law, cornerback (New England Patriots, 1995-2004; New York Jets, 2005, ’08; Kansas City Chiefs, 2006-07; Denver Broncos, 2009)
14. John Lynch, safety (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1993-2003; Denver Broncos, 2004-07)
15. Kevin Mawae, center (Seattle Seahawks, 1994-97; New York Jets, 1998-2005; Tennessee Titans, 2006-09)

this story also appeared on

Jim Williams is the Washington Bureau Chief, Digital Director as well as the Director of Special Projects for Genesis Communications. He is starting his third year as part of the team. This is Williams 40th year in the media business, and in that time he has served in a number of capacities. He is a seven time Emmy Award winning television producer, director, writer and executive. He has developed four regional sports networks, directed over 2,000 live sporting events including basketball, football, baseball hockey, soccer and even polo to name a few sports. Major events include three Olympic Games, two World Cups, two World Series, six NBA Playoffs, four Stanley Cup Playoffs, four NCAA Men’s National Basketball Championship Tournaments (March Madness), two Super Bowl and over a dozen college bowl games. On the entertainment side Williams was involved s and directed over 500 concerts for Showtime, Pay Per View and MTV Networks.